Press Releases

Kuster Statement on Senate Republicans Blocking Bipartisan Commission to Investigate January 6th Attack



Washington, D.C. — Today, Rep. Annie Kuster (NH-02) released the following statement after Senate Republicans blocked the National Commission to Investigate the January 6 Attack on the United States Capitol Complex Act — this House-passed bipartisan legislation would establish an independent commission to investigate the January 6th insurrection against the United States of America.


“I was both a victim and a witness on January 6th when pro-Trump insurrectionists attacked the U.S. Capitol in an attempt to stop the certification of the 2020 Presidential Election. This domestic terror attack was directed not only towards Members of Congress, Vice President Pence, and the U.S. Capitol building — it was a horrifying attack on our very democracy. I was proud to vote for legislation to create a bipartisan, independent 9/11-style commission to investigate what happened on January 6th and the failures that allowed it to happen. 


“Senate Republicans were also victims of this attack, and their effort to block the creation of this commission is a baffling, irresponsible mistake that will deprive the American people of the truth and could leave us vulnerable to future attacks.”


Like the 9/11 Commission, the measure would have established a 10-person bipartisan commission with five commissioners, including the Chair, appointed by the Speaker of the House and the Majority Leader of the Senate and five commissioners, including the Vice Chair, appointed by the Minority Leaders of the House and Senate. Commissioners must have significant expertise in the areas of law enforcement, civil rights, civil liberties, privacy, intelligence, and cybersecurity. Current government officers or employees are prohibited from appointment. 


The Commission would have been required to issue a final report with findings regarding the facts and causes of the attack, along with recommendations to prevent future attacks on our democratic institutions, by December 31, 2021.