Press Releases

New Democrat Coalition Leaders Encouraged by President Biden’s Executive Order to Secure the Southern Border, Call for Republicans to Come to the Table

Washington, D.C. — Today, New Democrat Coalition Leadership Members and NDC Immigration and Border Security Task Force Chair Greg Stanton (AZ-04) issued a statement following the release of President Biden’s executive order that would bar migrants who cross the Southern Border unlawfully from receiving asylum, which will be in effect during high levels of crossing. This action will enable immigration officers to more easily remove those who do not have a lawful basis to remain in the country and ease the burden on Border Patrol agents. 

“With today’s announcement, President Biden is taking decisive, commonsense action to restore order at the southern border at a time when Congressional Republicans continue to use it as a political football. This executive order will reduce the burden on Customs and Border Protection, immigration courts and the immigration system, and the communities we represent.

“We are encouraged by the President’s executive order, but it’s ultimately Congress’ job to address this crisis through real, sustained investments in border security and meaningful immigration reform. 

“New Dems have worked tirelessly to find bipartisan consensus on policies that secure the border, support law enforcement, reform the asylum system, and provide a pathway to citizenship for those who qualify. At every turn, Congressional Republicans have blocked progress for their own political gain – and that of Donald Trump. 

“It’s time for Republicans to put politics aside and finally join Democrats in passing the bipartisan border bill for the good of the American people. Guided by our Framework for Commonsense Immigration Reform, New Dems will continue fighting to find common ground and deliver bipartisan solutions to restore order at the southern border.”

New Democrat Leadership Members include Chair Annie Kuster (NH-02), Vice Chairs Sharice Davids (KS-03), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Brad Schneider (IL-10), and  Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Leadership Member Marilyn Strickland (WA-10), Whip Susie Lee (NV-03), Freshman Leadership Representative Nikki Budzinski (IL-13) and Chair Emeritus Suzan DelBene (WA-01). Rep. Greg Stanton (AZ-04) is the Chair of the NDC’s Immigration and Border Security Task Force and Salud Carbajal (CA-24) is the Vice Chair of the Task Force.

New Dems have consistently fought for bipartisan, commonsense immigration and border security reform in 2024. In February, New Dem leaders quickly supported the bipartisan border deal negotiated earlier this year, and urged Speaker Johnson to put partisan games aside and bring the package to the House floor.

After Congressional Republicans rejected the border deal at Trump’s request, the NDC Immigration and Border Security Task Force released its framework for immigration and border security reform to serve as a baseline for further bipartisan negotiations.

In May, in preparation for the FY2025 appropriations process, Immigration and Border Security Task Force Chair Greg Stanton (AZ-04) and  Gabe Vasquez (NM-02) led the Coalition’s letter to the House Appropriations Committee outlining immigration and border security priorities. Additionally, Chair Stanton and Vice Chair Salud Carbajal (CA-24) issued a statement on the 100th day since Senate Republicans blocked a vote on the border deal, once again calling on Republicans to take border security seriously.