Press Releases

House Passes Kuster-Backed Legislation To Honor 13 U.S. Servicemembers Killed in Afghanistan

**Rep. Annie Kuster is a cosponsor of this bipartisan legislation**


Washington, D.C. — Today, the House of Representatives unanimously passed bipartisan legislation supported by Rep. Annie Kuster (NH-02), H.R. 5142, to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. military servicemembers who were killed in the terrorist attack in Afghanistan on August 26, 2021. Following passage, Kuster released the following statement:


“The 13 brave men and women in uniform who were killed in the cowardly terror attack in Afghanistan on August 26th were American heroes. We must honor their memory and pay tribute to their incredible service to our nation. They made the ultimate sacrifice for our country, and to these fallen heroes and their families we owe a debt that can never be repaid. I urge the Senate to follow the lead of the House and take immediate, bipartisan action to commemorate these selfless men and women with the highest honor we can, the Congressional Gold Medal.”


The 13 U.S. servicemembers killed during the terrorist attack in Afghanistan were:

  • Lance Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, 20
  • Sgt. Nicole Gee, 23
  • Staff Sgt. Taylor Hoover, 31
  • Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss, 23
  • Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, 20
  • Cpl. Hunter Lopez, 22
  • Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, 20
  • Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, 20
  • Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, 25
  • Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, 22
  • Cpl. Daegan William-Tyeler Page, 23
  • Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, 20
  • Seaman Maxton “Max” Soviak, 22